The Best of Walter Jackson: Welcome Home - The Okeh Years


  1. My Ship Is Comin' In
  2. 2. What Would You Do
    3. It's All Over
    4. That's What Mama Say
    5. Suddenly I'm All Over
    6. It's An Uphill Climb (To The Bottom)
    7. Tear For Tear
    8. After You There Can Be Nothing
    9. Speak Her Name
    10. Lee Cross
    11. Moonlight In Vermont
    12. Funny (Not Much)
    13. A Corner In The Sun
    14. There Goes That Song Again
    15. Welcome Home
I came across this brilliant CD in the Virgin Megastore in Hollywood, on a resent visit to the USA. With fifteen tracks from Walter Jackson, recordings made with Okeh in the mid to late sixties, including the classic "It's All Over" written by Curtis Mayfield. "That's What Mama Say" and the soul gem "It's an Uphill Climb (To The Bottom). Check out the other lesser know tracks and the interesting liner notes (and photographs) with a section by the arranger/conductor Riley Hampton. This is the Sound of Chicago.  Issued on Epic Legacy Rhythm & Soul Series CD ZK 64628 (USA)