The Other Side of the Trax

Stax-Volt 45rpm Rarities 1964-1968

Various Artists

  1. Changes - Johnnie Taylor
  2. Separation - Carla Thomas
  3. This Kind Of Woman - Ivory Joe Hunter
  4. Sho' Gonna Mess Him Up - Rufus Thomas
  5. You Belong To Her - Barbara & The Browns
  6. Don't Stop Now - William Bell
  7. Beach Bash - The Mar-Keys
  8. My Pride Won't Let Me - Eddie Purrell
  9. I Need Somebody - Johnny Daye
  10. (Uh-Oh) I'm In Love Again - Eddie Jefferson
  11. Watchdog - Dorothy Williams
  12. You'll Never Know How Much I Love You - Oscar Mack
  13. Please Be Honest With Me - Barbara & The Browns
  14. Ain't Got No Girl - William Bell
  15. A Boy Named Tom - Carla Thomas
  16. Sweet Thing - Gorgeous George
  17. Hey Now - Eddie Floyd
  18. The Big Dipper - Sir Isaac & The Do-Dads
  19. We're Tight - Rufus & Carla Thomas
  20. I Gotta Have My Baby's Love - Sir Mack Rice
  21. Under My Nose - Eddie Floyd
  22. Bashful Guitar - Johnny Jenkins
  23. Here I am - Lynda Lyndell
  24. Strange Things (Happenin' In My Heart) - Johnnie Taylor

This is a superb Stax-Volt label compilation of so called "B" sides, 24 tracks issued on CD for the very first time. Compilation and extensive notes by Tony Rounce which also includes a label scan of every 45! If you are not aware of some of these fine Soul sides, up tempo dance, instrumentals and ballard's, you are in for a real treat! Issued by ACE records on Kent Soul CDTOP 442.

These tracks were not issued on the 1991, USA Atlantic, complete Stax-Volt singles large 9 CD box set. Which has been reissued by Rhino in early 2016.