The Man Who Invented Soul
Sam Cooke

Sam Cooke 4CD Boxed Set Disc 1:  You Send Me  /  Summertime (Part One)  /  For Sentimental Reasons  /  Desire Me  /  Lonely Island  /  You Were Made For Me  /  Win Your Love For Me  /   I Love You Most Of All  /   Everybody Loves To Cha Cha Cha  /   No One (Can Ever Take Your Place)  /  Only Sixteen  /   With You  /  Crazy She Calls Me  /   I Got A Right To Sing The Blues  /   Comes Love  /  Ain't Nobody's Bizness If I Do  /  Little Things You Do  /  There I've Said It Again  /  When I Fall In Love  /  Let's Go Steady Again  /  Wonderful World  /  Disc 2:  Chain Gang  /  I Belong To Your Heart  / Teenage Sonata  /  Love Me  /  Sad Mood (unreleased take)  /  If I Had You  / You Belong To Me  /  Sad Mood  /  Tenderness  /  That's It, I Quit, I'm Moving On  /   Hold On (unreleased)  /  Cupid  /   Tenderness (unreleased take)  /  Don't Get Around Much Anymore  More  /  Nobody Knows You When You're Down And Out  / Baby, Won't You Please Come Home  /  Trouble In Mind  /  Out In The Cold Again  /  Exactly Like You  /   Since I Met You Baby  /   I'm Just A Lucky So And So  / But Not For Me  /  You're Always On My Mind  /  Feel It  (unreleased take)  /  It's All Right  /  Twistin' The Night Away  /  One More Time  /  Don't Cry On My Shoulder  /  Disc 3:  Somebody's Gonna Miss Me  /  Somebody Have Mercy  /  Sugar Dumpling  (original version) /  Nothing Can Change This Love   (unreleased early take)   /  Talkin' Trash  /  Movin' And A-Groovin'  /  Soothe Me  /  Havin' A Party  /  Bring It On Home To Me  /  A Whole Lotta Woman  /   I'm Gonna Forget About You  /  Nothing Can Change This Love  /   Baby, Baby, Baby  /  Send Me Some Lovin'  /  All The Way  /  Smoke Rings  /   I Wish You Love  /  Driftin' Blues  /   Little Girl  /  Cry Me A River  /   These Foolish Things  /  Frankie And Johnny  /  I Ain't Gonna Cheat On You No More  /  Another Saturday Night (unreleased take)  /   Love Will Find A Way  / Cool Train (first-ever stereo release)  / Lost And Lookin'  /  Mean Old World  /  Disc 4: Nobody Knows The Trouble I've Seen  /  Please Don't Drive Me Away  /  I Lost Everything  /  Get Yourself Another Fool  /   Little Red Rooster  /  Laughing' And Clowin'  /  Trouble Blues  /  You Gotta Move   /   Fool's Paradise  /  Shake, Rattle And Roll  /  Feel It (live)  /  Cupid (live)  /  It's All Right (live) /  For Sentimental Reasons (live)  / Chain Gang (live)  /  Twisting The Night Away (live)  /  Somebody Have Mercy (live)  /  Bring It On Home To Me (live)  /  Nothing Can Change This Love (live) /  Having A Party (live)
This is a 4 cd box set in the form of a book from RCA records. It has 91 tracks by Sam Cooke and is not complete, in fact several of his well known songs have been omitted. A Change Is Gonna Come and  Shake both covered by Otis Redding, who was greatly influened by Sam Cooke have not been included . However, what is here is excellent, if you are a fan or new to his music this collection is a treat. Hard to believe the date he recorded some of these songs, well ahead of his short time, he was just 33 year old when he was shot dead in 1964. Issued on RCA 07863 67911-2 (USA).