Just One Look

Best Of

Doris Troy

1. Just One Look
2. Bossa Nova Blues
3. Stormy Weather
4. Someone Ain't Right
5. Lazy Days (When Are You Coming Home)
6. Be Sure
7. Tomorrow Is Another Day
8. What'cha Gonna Do About It?
9. Draw Me Closer
10. School for Fools
11. Trust in Me
12. Somewhere Along the Way
13. Time
14. Please Little Angel
15. One More Chance
16. Hurry
17. He Don't Belong to Me
18. How My Heart Aches
19. You'd Better Stop
20. I'll Do Anything (He Wants Me to Do)
21. But I Love Him

Prompted by the death of Doris Troy (16/2/2004) this CD issued by Ichiban as part of there Soul Classics series in 1994 deserves seeking out. This compilation is indeed her best work from 1962 until the beginning of the 70's. Includes his first record on Atlantic "Just One Look" and the follow up "What'cha Gonna Do About It". Looking back how strange it was that both were covered by British group in the UK, The Hollies and Small Faces, they helped to raise her profile with the hit records. She came to live in Britain and returned to the USA in 1974. I can remember her playing the piano when appearing on Ready Steady Go in the mid sixties. Northern Soul Fans will know her best for " I'll Do Anything" first issued on Cameo Parway C101 (worth £50+) and later, on the Toast label 1968. The liner notes in the pull out booklet document her recording career in some detail. Although this CD is not now generally available it can be found. Issued on Ichiban 2504 USA.